Skip to main content

Warren R. Myers

Warren Myers




  • Ph.D., Industrial Engineering, West Virginia University,1986
  • M.P.H., University of Minnesota, 1980
  • M.S., West Virginia University, 1971
  • B.S., West Virginia University, 1969

Dr. Myers spent 13 years with NIOSH before joining the industrial engineering faculty in the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources. He served the College for 30 years, including 3 years as Chair of the Industrial Engineering Department and his last 14 years as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. He retired as Emeritus Professor from the College in 2016. He was a Certified Industrial Hygienist retiring his certificate in 2018. Dr. Myers holds a Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering from West Virginia University.

Dr. Myers taught undergraduate and graduate courses in statistics, human factors, ergonomics, industrial hygiene, air sampling, ventilation and noise. He has extensive research and field experience in industrial hygiene specifically with worker exposure assessments to chemical and physical agents, ergonomic and human factors problems, ventilation system assessment and personal protective equipment. He has worked professionally for the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health; the American Mining Congress; 3M Co.; the Department of Defense (Army and Air Force); the National Paint and Coatings Association; OSHA and others.

He conducted NIOSH’s first research studies on respirator performance in the workplace, including PAPRs. His research contributions on respirators have played a major role in OSHA’s promulgation of its Respirator Assigned Protection Standard. He has published over 50+ peer-reviewed articles in the field of industrial hygiene with a particular focus on the performance of respirators.

Dr. Myers has received numerous national and international awards recognizing his research activities including: the 1987, 1995 and 1998 John M. White Award given by the American Industrial Hygiene Association, Respirator Committee for excellence in respiratory protection, the 1989 Edward C. Hyatt Award presented by the International Society for Respiratory Protection for contributions to the arts and science of respiratory protection and others.